IWTSD Subgroups
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

History and Organization

In April 1982, the National Security Decision Directive 30 assigned responsibility for the development of an overall United States policy on terrorism to the Interdepartmental Group on Terrorism (IG/T), chaired by the Department of State. TSWG was an original subgroup of the IG/T, which later became the Interagency Working Group on Counterterrorism (IWG/CT). In its February 1986 report, a Cabinet-level Task Force on Counterterrorism, led by then Vice President Bush, cited TSWG as assuring, "the development of appropriate counterterrorism technological efforts."


TSWG's 10 subgroups are chaired by senior representatives from DoD, other federal agencies, and national organizations with special expertise in those functional areas.